A goalkeeper commits a handball offence if he handles the ball outside of the penalty area. The goalkeeper is only allowed to handle the ball within his own penalty area. As such, he cannot use his hands once he is outside of his penalty box. According the Laws of the Game, the goalkeeper cannot handle the ball if he is outside of his penalty area.
Summary: The IFAB Laws of the Game defines handball as “the deliberate act of a player making contact with the ball with the hand or arm”. The goalkeeper is exempt from this rule inside their penalty area, but has the same restrictions as any other player outside their box. A ball off the shoulder is not handball.
Conversely, a goalie who is standing completely outside the box may touch a ball that is inside the goal box area without penalty. Free Kick. Once the referee decides that the goalie has illegally handled the ball outside the box, the whistle blows and play stops. The referee places the ball at the spot of the infraction.
Why are keepers not penalised for handball outside the box? Can understand not implementing handball's in open play because people would abuse it. However if a keeper handball's then surely that should be a free kick? obviously no card should follow because that would be unfair but things like this should never happen.
Once a keeper is outside the penalty area he becomes merely a player...so unless you consider every handball by any player outside the box a straight red....then no. Enough players DO seem to think ANY handball must be at least a yellow: so much so that IFAB had to make it clear that only if it breaks up a promising attack does it warrant a caution.
More Handball Outside The Box images
Handball in the Penalty Box Rules I wanted to end this article by specifically looking at a handball in the penalty area, as this is one area where lots of people have questions. We have covered some of this information already, but let’s think about it directly in relation to the penalty area.
for direct free kick offences a penalty kick is awarded if this is within the offender’s penalty area. So handballs outside of the penalty area result in a direct free kick and any direct free kick offences (including handballs) committed in the penalty area result in a penalty kick.
Can a goalkeeper receive the ball outside the box and dribble it back to the box and pick it up? Yes the goalkeeper will be allowed to do this as long as they have not received the ball from their own teammates, according to the LOTG if the ball is touched by a goalkeeper inside the penalty area after receiving a pass from a fellow team mate it would result in a indirect free kick.